Who We Are

The Universal Hip Hop Museum was founded by Rocky Bucano and a group of iconic entrepreneurs and artists including Kurtis Blow, Ice T, LL Cool J, Nas, and many others. They joined forces to create the world’s first Hip Hop museum in the Bronx.

Group 10

Meet Our Founding Members and Board of Trustees

Founding Members

Rocky Bucano, Business Owner and Entertainment Manager

Kurtis Blow, Recording Superstar

Afrika Bambaataa, Master of Records

Shawn LG Thomas, Music Producer & Host of the Black Spin (Sirius XM)

Grandwizzard Theodore, Inventor of the Scratch

Mickey Bentson, Manager, Ice T

Joe Conzo Jr., Legendary Photographer

Grandmaster Melle Mel, Legendary MC

Board of Trustees

Nana Carmen Ashhurst, Chair of the Board

Kurtis Blow, Chairman Emeritus

Rocky Bucano, Executive Director

Reggie Peters, Music Executive

Adam Silverstein, Collector & Attorney

Keith Clinkscales, Media Executive & Entrepreneur

Peter Bittenbender, CEO, Mass Appeal

Group 10

Meet Our Staff

Executive Team

Rocky Bucano, Executive Director

SenYon Kelly, Operations Manager

Donna Davis, Director of Development

Renee Foster, Director of Communications

Decota Letman, Publicist (Chamber Group)

Lance Pope, Membership Manager

Michael Ford, Architect Design Manager

David Miller (Proskauer Rose, LLP)

Candace Nepal (PPMT Strategic Group)

Daniel Stewart (Kramer Levin, LLP)

Archives, Curation, and Education

Adam Silverstein, Director of Archives and Collections

Paradise Gray, Chief Curator

Prime Minister Pete Nice, Co-Curator

SenYon Kelly, Co-Curator

Jorge “PopMaster Fabel” Pabon, Curator of Fashion and Artist-In-Residence

Elai Tubo, Curator of Sound

Shawn LG Thomas, Curator of Music Programming

Martha Diaz,  Chair of Archives, Curatorial, and Educational Affairs

Mark Green, Chair of Artist Relations

Marketing and Content

Asya Blue, Art Direction and Design

Kylerr Bucano, Social Media Manager

Tramp Daly, Merchandise and Licensing

Cordelia Donovan, Social Media Analyst

Kate Harvie, Contributing Writer, Outreach, Website Manager

Pamela French, Documentarian and Content Producer

Rich McKeown, Documentarian and Content Producer

Caitlin Smyth, Merchandise and Licensing

Youth Ambassadors

Oscar Castillo, Education and Collection

Armani Mines, Archives and Collection

Marlin Ramos, Education and Marketing

Kayla Shelton, Marketing

Amber Smalls, Education and Marketing

Kiarra White, Marketing

Julius Tanner, Archives and Collections

Group 10

Meet Our Advisors

UHHM Advisory Board

Edward Young, Co-Chair of Advisory Board

Robert Reid, Co-Chair of Advisory Board

Stephon H. Alexander, Professor of Physics

Harry Allen, Journalist

Mandy Aragones, Artist Management

Chris Atlas, EVP, Urban Music & Marketing, Warner Records

Dallas Austin, Musician, Songwriter & Producer

Will Billings, Financial Executive

Martin Caba

Orrin Campbell, Artist/Crypto Advisor

Mike Carnevale, Technology Futurist at CARNEVALE

Dr. Benjamin F. Chavis – President Black Press of America

Vivian Scott Chew, Music Executive

Michael A. Dean

Nicole Duncan-Smith, Journalist

Christian Gordon, Asst. Dean of Development, UC Berkeley

Frederik “Torch” Hahn, German Hip Hop Legend

Marq Hawkins, West Coast Hip Hop Legend

Miguel Herrera, Polymath: Data Science/Talent Management

Michael Holman, Historian

Warrington Hudlin, Founder, Black Filmmakers Foundation

Neil Levine, Entertainment Executive

David Lipsey, Digital Asset Management

Ralph McDaniels, Video Music Box

Jennifer R. McZier, Arts Consultant

Thembisa Mshaka, Author & Filmmaker

Michael Münzer, Apeiron Visuals

Shawn Prez, Music Industry Executive

Jeff Pucillo, TELL-IGNITE

Dedra N. Tate, Entertainment Executive

Tina Marie Tyler, Tina On Tech

Rachel Weingeist

Tyrone Williams, Music Executive

Education Committee

Martha Diaz, Director, Hip Hop Education Center 

Kashema Hutchinson, Fresh, Bold and So Def Initiative, Hip Hop Education Center

Rich Nice,  Associate Director, Hip Hop Education Center and A&R Room

Queen Herawin, U.S. State Department Hip Hop Ambassador 

Chantel Calloway, FounderRhyme Antics

Sommer Regan McCoy, Founder, Mixtape Museum

Minister Server, Founder, Hip Hop Ministries

Fiona Bloom, Founder, The Bloom Effect

DJ Wiz, Legendary DJ of Kid-N-Play

Francesca D’Amico-Cuthbert, Ph.D., University of Toronto

Devon Glover, The Sonnet Man

Tina Bell Wright, Ph.D., Southwest College

Reies Romero, Director, James Dewitt Yancey Foundation – MN 

Piper Carter, We Found Hip Hop

Emanuel “PRIZM” Roman, Chosen Zulu

Rokafella & Kwikstep, Full Circle Souljahs

Michael Dando, Ph.D., St. Cloud State University

Asia One, Founder, B-Boy Summit

Group 10

Meet our Cultural Ambassadors

Awesome Two, Teddy Ted, & Special K

Big Daddy Kane

Chuck D


Christopher “Play” Martin

DJ Battlecat


DJ Silky D

DJ Spark


Doug E. Fresh

DJ Hollywood

Ebro Darden

Ice T


King Tee

Krayzie Bone

Kool Herc

Lisa Lee

LL Cool J

Mr. Biggs

Lisa Lee

Mr. Biggs

Mumu Fresh

Musiq Soulchild


Rah Deluxe

Reggie Reg

Rodney C

Roxanne Shante



Shani Kulture

Slick Rick

Spoonie Gee

Sway Calloway

Tats Cru

Toni Blackman

Tony Tone

Tramp Daly

Van Silk

Tony “Mr. Wave” Wesley


Gary Harris

Lovebug Starski

Larry Smith

Statement Regarding The UHHM

The Universal Hip Hop Museum (UHHM) is making this statement to clarify the use of the adjective “universal” in its name. As used in the organization’s name, Universal Hip Hop Museum, “Universal” refers to the recognition of the global impact, the ethnically and culturally diverse nature, and the impact of Hip Hop over the past almost 50 years since its inception. The Universal Hip Hop Museum has no corporate or organizational relationships with any organizations with “Universal” in their names. The UHHM is a recognized 501(c)(3) organization and has no corporate or organizational relationships with Universal Records, Universal Pictures, the Universal Zulu Nation, or any other such named organization.

Skip to content